BEFORE THE ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
IN THE MATTER OF: AP# 16-007
GENTRY CHEVROLET

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

IT HAS BEEN determined by the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
(hereinafter “Commission”) that Gentry Chevrolet (hereinafter “Gentry™), a licensed
dealer, violated the motor vehicle commission statute when they utilized false and
misleading advertising. This action is in direct violation of the Arkansas Motor Vehicle
Commission Act, Ark Code Ann. §23-112-101, et seq., pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §23-
112-204. If the Commission determines that a firm or individual violated the Commission
Act or Rules, they may revoke or suspend the license, or impose a monetary penalty in lieu
of revocation or suspension if the public interest would not be impaired thereby and the
payment of the penalty will achieve the desired disciplinary results.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The Commission finds the following facts as true:

Fl.  Gentry is a licensed new motor vehicle dealer, F887, located at 801 W. Collin Raye
Dr., DeQueen, AR.

F2. On July 6, 2016, Commission investigator Gordon McCoy, contacted Gentry to
verify an advertisement in the Ouachita Trading Post on page 32. The June 15,
2016, advertisement listed five (5) vehicles for sale with a variety of discounts.

F3.  Each vehicle listed a five hundred dollar ($500.00) Farm Bureau discount, four (4)
vehicles listed a seven hundred fifty dollar ($750.00) Conquest discount, and one

(1) vehicle listed a one thousand five hundred dollar ($1,500.00) Equinox Loyalty
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discount. Each ofthese discounts require a consumer to meet qualifications in order
to receive the incentive.

The Commission’s Ad Hoc committee met on Wednesday, August 17, 2016, and
made a recommendation to the full Commission which was approved during a
Wednesday, August 17, 2016, Commission meeting to issue a Notice of Violation
to Gentry.

APPLICABLE LAW

Motor vehicle dealers are required to conform their conduct to the Motor Vehicle
Commuission Act, Ark. Code Act § 23-112-101, ef seq. and the Rules promulgated
by the Commission pursuant to Ark. Code Act § 23-112-204.

Violations of Commission Rules are considered to be a prima facie violation of
Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-402(3) which states it is unlawful for a motor vehicle
dealer or salesperson to use any false or misleading advertisement.

Failure to comply with any provision of the AMVC Act or any Rule promulgated
by the Commission may lead to revocation or suspension of the license as per Ark.
Code Ann. § 23-112-308(a)(4). The Commission may issue a monetary penalty in
licu of revocation or suspension as per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-309.

The price of a new motor vehicle, when advertised by a dealer, must be the price
that is available to every consumer. Rebates or incentives that are available to all
consumers without qualification can be deducted from the price. Limited rebates
or incentives that are only available to select or qualifying consumers shall not be

deducted from the advertised price as stated in Rule 3 Advertising, Section 2(A).
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Licensees shall not use false or misleading advertising Rule 3 Advertising, Section
2(B).
CHARGE

Gentry violated Commission statutes and Rule 3 on Advertising when they
advertised a price not available to every consumer by utilizing discounts only
available to qualifying consumers. This charge is based on the facts as stated and
referenced above, and the provisions of law set out in paragraphs L1, L2, L3, and
L4.

Gentry violated Commission statutes and Rule on Advertising when they utilized
false and misleading advertising by applying discounts with qualifications not
available to all consumers when advertising a price. This charge is based on the
facts as stated and referenced above, and the provisions of law set out in paragraphs

L1,L2,L3, L4 and L5.

AS A RESULT OF THESE VIOLATIONS, you are hereby directed to pay a

civil penalty in the amount of two thousand five thousand dollars ($2,500.00).

The Commission finds the violations of Commission statutes and rules by Gentry

warrant a suspension of Gentry’s license for failure to comply with provisions of the

Commission Act and Rules promulgated by the Commission as per the applicable law

stated above.

The Commission finds that in lieu of a suspension of Gentry’s license the public

interest would not be impaired and the payment of a penalty will achieve the desired

disciplinary result by issuing a monetary penalty against Gentry in accordance with Ark.



Code Ann. § 23-112-309 in the amount of five hundred dollars ($500.00) per day for five
(10) days for an aggregate amount of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500.00).

This amount should be sent to the Commission within seven (7) days of receipt of
this Notice of Violation.

IF YOU DESIRE TO CONTEST the alleged violation or the penalty imposed,
please indicate this request on the attached form and return to the Commission Office
within seven (7) days and this matter will be set for an evidentiary hearing before the

Commission.
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